The Football Association [The FA] has today announced the successful recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards.

The Grassroots Football Awards, which are in their first year, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determined and Excellent – whilst making a positive difference in their club, league or local community.

Following receipt of over 2,900 nominations, The FA worked alongside respective County FAs to select winners in the local area. The list of regional recipients was then deliberated upon by a panel at Wembley Stadium connected by EE and the following winners will be acknowledged and celebrated at The FA Community Shield on 5 August 2018:

  • Coach of the Year – John McGuinness, Russell Foster, Durham
  • Community Project of the Year – Benjamin Rosser, The Pythian Club, Nottinghamshire
  • Charter Standard Club of the Year – Leigh Willis, Anchorians Football Club, Kent
  • Charter Standard League of the Year – Helen Brain, Gloucestershire County Women’s Football League, Gloucestershire
  • Grounds Team of the Year – Scott Walters & Mark Sherriff, Washington AFC, Durham
  • Match Official of the Year – George Byrne, Bury & District Sunday League, Suffolk
  • The Bobby Moore Award – Fatima Hussein, Capital City Academy, Middlesex
  • The Respect Award – Stourbridge & District Youth Football League, Birmingham
  • Supporter of the Year – Will & James Bather, Neston Nomads U12 Girls, Cheshire
  • Volunteer of the Year – Susan Carmichael, Liverpool Feds Women’s Football Club, Liverpool
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year – Nahimul Islam, Wapping Youth FC, London

In addition, McDonald’s Derby and Helen Atkinson, Crossfield Ladies, will also be recognised as Restaurant of the Year and Mum of the Year respectively at the season’s traditional curtain-raiser.

Nathan French, The FA’s National Respect Project Manager, said: "The response we have received has been overwhelming. The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards capture the essence of all that is good about football, and give national recognition to excellent work that might otherwise go under the radar."

Stephanie Moore MBE, Founder of The Bobby Moore Fund for Cancer Research UK, said: "It was an absolute pleasure to join the judging panel of the Grassroots Football Awards to preside over the Bobby Moore, Charter Standard League, Grounds Team and Young Volunteer awards.

"I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate each and every one of the winners, whilst thanking them for their fantastic and inspirational work across the game."

Troy Townsend, Kick It Out Education Manager, said: "The Grassroots Football Awards are a fantastic way of recognising the vital work being carried out across the country in the game by individuals, clubs and organisations. Volunteers work tireless hours to continue to make the game thrive at this level.

"At Kick It Out, promoting equality and inclusion in grassroots communities is a central part of what we do, so I was personally delighted to be on the panel. There were so many excellent submissions deserving of recognition, but the eventual winners really went above and beyond the criteria we set out. They should be extremely proud of their achievements."

To learn more about the Grassroots Football Awards, please visit and follow @FA.